Board of Directors

Board of Directors | Management Team

Keith Bailey
Chairman of Board

Keith Bailey has served as Chairman of our board of directors since September 2009. In 2002, Mr. Bailey retired from serving as the chairman of the board of directors of Williams Companies, Inc., a natural gas company, a position he held since 1994. Mr. Bailey also served as the president and chief executive officer of Williams Companies, Inc. from 1994 to 2001. Mr. Bailey is a member of the board of directors of Aegis Insurance Services, Ltd. and APCO Oil & Gas International, Inc. Mr.

Patrick Condon

Mr. Patrick Condon has served as a director since March 2012. Mr. Condon is a retired partner of Deloitte & Touche LLP. He joined Deloitte & Touche in 2002, where he provided various consulting and attest services to clients until his retirement in 2011. Mr. Condon also held a number of regional and national leadership roles within Deloitte & Touche. Mr. Condon worked for Arthur Andersen LLP from 1970 to 2002, providing various consulting and attest services. Mr.

William Fox

William T. Fox III has served as a director since October 2009. From 1989 until his retirement in 2003, Mr. Fox served as Managing Director, Global Industry Head, Global Energy and Mining of Citigroup Inc., a global financial services company. Prior to that, Mr. Fox was Citigroup's Managing Director, North American Energy and Vice President, Petroleum Department. Mr. Fox serves on the board of directors, on the executive committee and as chairman of the audit committee of Rowan Companies, Inc

Colin Marshall
President and Chief Executive Officer

President and Chief Executive Officer Colin Marshall is responsible for the operations of Cloud Peak Energy. The company operates three Powder River Basin coal mines in Wyoming and Montana.

Before his appointment as head of Cloud Peak Energy, Mr. Marshall was President and CEO of Rio Tinto Energy America (RTEA) prior to the company’s public offering as Cloud Peak Energy (CLD). Preceding RTEA, Mr. Marshall was the General Manager of Rio Tinto’s West Pilbara iron ore operations. He was located

Steven Nance

Mr. Steven Nance has served as a director since January 2010. Mr. Nance is the former President of Peoples Energy Production Company, previously served as the Chairman, President and CEO of XPLOR Energy Inc., and has significant experience with several other energy companies. Mr. Nance serves on the board of directors, compensation committee, and nominating and governance committee of The Williams Companies, Inc. For Cloud Peak Energy Inc., Mr. Nance serves on the Compensation Committee, Audit

Bill Owens

The Honorable William F. Owens has served on the board since January 2010. He previously served as Governor of Colorado from 1999 to 2007. He is on the boards of Key Energy Services Inc., Bill Barrett Corporation, and Federal Signal Corporation. He is also involved in a number of other private businesses. For Cloud Peak Energy Inc., former Governor Owens chairs the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee and serves on the Compensation Committee.

Below is a summary of our committee structure and membership information. To read more about any of the committees, click on committee names in the chart below.

Chairperson ChairpersonCommittee Member MemberFinancial Expert Financial Expert
 Audit CommitteeCompensation CommitteeHealth Safety Environment and Communities CommitteeNominating and Corporate Governance Committee
Keith Bailey  Committee Member 
Patrick Condon Financial ExpertChairperson  Committee Member
William Fox Financial ExpertCommittee MemberChairperson Committee Member
Colin Marshall  Committee Member 
Steven NanceCommittee MemberCommittee MemberChairperson 
Bill Owens Committee Member Chairperson

Investor Contacts

Primary IR Contact